#BlogTour: The Fire Killer by Ross Greenwood @greenwoodross @BoldwoodBooks @rararesources #TheFireKiller #RossGreenwood #RachelsRandomResources #5Stars

Book Synopsis:

When DI Barton is asked to investigate a seemingly innocuous fire that kills, he believes it’s either children fooling around or a worrying racially-motivated crime.As he delves deeper into the case, he soon realises that there is a history of similar blazes spread out over many years, all within a close area. An idea suggested by pathologist Mortis makes Barton suspect he has the arsonist’s motives wrong.When a night worker comes forward with a tip, Barton narrows down the suspects. But with all of them acting suspiciously, he knows for sure that one or more of them must be lying. And when a huge house blaze shocks everyone, Barton fears the killer has lost all control.Who is The Fire Killer? What will be next to burn?DI Barton is back as Ross Greenwood continues with his bestselling series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Ian Rankin.

My Review:

I’m a big fan of this author so a new book from him is always very exciting. Once again the author has written a fast pace, intriguing read which I struggled to put down.

I was instantly drawn into the story with the fantastic, fast pace opening which I found very intriguing and made me want to keep reading so I could find out what was going to happen. One of the things I’ve always liked about this series is how the author tells the story both from the police investigation and from the killer’s point of view. This is really interesting and helps the readers get to know the killer too and realise why they are doing what they are doing. In this book the killer has a very emotional reason for doing what he’s doing which actually made me feel a bit sorry for him at times which I thought was clever.

It was great being back with Barton and DS Zander solving a mystery along side them. They are such a great team and I feel that they work together well, each of them complementing the other. The banter between them is always hilarious and helps break some of the tension in the book. I loved the inclusion of the two female officers in this book too as I felt they helped bring some new life into the investigation and it was great to see them having such a strong role in the investigation.

The case seemed very real at times and I liked how it seemed to unfold in real time with slower moments where the case stalled due to lack of clues. This also helped the threat of the fire killer seem more real too though which added to the tension as his obsession with fire meant I wasn’t too sure what he was going to do next.

The ending was brilliant! I had managed to guess how it would end but that didn’t make it less shocking. The tension becomes almost unbearable towards the end and I felt a mix of emotions as the case comes to a close. I can’t wait to read more in the future.

Huge thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me onto the blog tour and to Boldwood for my copy of this book via netgalley.

About The Author:

Ross Greenwood is the author of crime thrillers. Before becoming a full-time writer he was most recently a prison officer and so worked everyday with murderers, rapists and thieves for four years. He lives in Peterborough.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s